Skip to content

Congestion Task Force

Getting our region moving again.
A crowded Gardiner expressway.

Toronto commuters spend 98 hours annually navigating rush hour traffic and have the longest average travel time in North America. The challenges posed by the congestion crisis impact trade, productivity, and cost us over $11 billion annually in productivity losses. Our city is stuck. It's time to identify and harness both immediate and long-term solutions to get our region’s economy moving again.

The Congestion Task Force

The Board has convened a Task Force of senior business leaders to identify and champion practical, high-impact solutions to tackle our congestion crisis. These leaders have a strong history of problem-solving and implementing bold solutions.

Task Force outputs and recommendations will include immediate measures to reduce current congestion levels, as well as a comprehensive, forward-looking plan – one that considers projected population growth to guide the region toward a more efficient and integrated transportation system.

Task Force Governing Council Members:

  • Alex Avery, CEO, Primaris REIT
  • Ray Chun, Group Head, Canadian Personal Banking, TD Bank
  • Giles Gherson, President & CEO, Toronto Region Board of Trade
  • Blake Goldring, Executive Chairman, AGF Management Limited
  • Sal Iacono, President & CEO, Cadillac Fairview
  • Doug Jeoffroy, SVP, Global Corporate Real Estate, RBC
  • Jon Love, Executive Chair & Founder, KingSett Capital
  • Paul Morasutti, Chairman, CBRE
  • Caroline Zayid, Managing Partner, Ontario Region, McCarthy Tetrault LLP

Task Force Members:

  • Susan Allen, President and CEO, BOMA Toronto
  • Shahz Beig, Vice President & Head, North American Corporate & Canadian Retail Real Estate and Transactions, TD Bank
  • Angela Bhutani, VP, Investment Counsellor, Burgundy Asset Management
  • Teresa Di Felice, AVP, Government and Community Relations, CAA Club Group
  • Gary Glasser, Managing Director, Head of Data Science and Strategy, Birch Hill Equity Partners
  • Shadi Hagag, Founder and CEO, Trans-Plan
  • Kevin Hardy, VP & Head of GTA Office Portfolio, Oxford Properties
  • Grant Humes, Executive Director, Toronto Financial District BIA
  • John Kiru, Executive Director, TABIA
  • Kurtis McBride, Co-Founder and CEO, Miovision
  • Laura Miller, Director, Public Policy and Communications, Uber
  • Brad Nicpon, Partner, McCarthy Tétrault
  • Brian Salpeter, EVP, Development, Cadillac Fairview
  • Rob Strickland, President, Fidelity Investments Canada
  • Javier Tamargo, President & CEO, 407 ETR
  • Ken Tsang, CFO, AGF Management Limited
  • Chris Tyrell, VP, Planning, Transportation & Infrastructure, WSP Canada
  • Nicole Wang, Partner, Infrastructure Advisory, Deloitte